SELECTION AND CONSTITUTIONAL REVIEW COMMITTEE 26TH APRIL

MEMBERSHIP OF COMMITTEES AND BOARDS INCLUDING CHAIRMEN AND VICE-CHAIRMEN

On the basis of the draft Political Balance Calculation agreed with Group Leaders the entitlement to seats is set out below.

The Committee may wish to confirm the proposed identities of the Chairmen and Vice-Chairmen of each Committee, for appointment in accordance with the Constitution, by the Full Council.

Overview and Scrutiny Committee (12 Members)

Members of the Cabinet may not be appointed to this Committee

Conservative	Ashford Independent	Labour	Green
(7)	(3)	(2)	(0)
Blanford	Hayward	Chilton (VCh)	
Burgess	Ledger	Farrell	
Howard	Ovenden (Ch)		
Howard-Smith			
lliffe			
Krause			
Mulholland			

Audit Committee (8 Members)

Conservative	Ashford Independent	Labour	Independent
(4)	(2)	(1)	(1*)
Buchanan (VCh)	Hayward	C Suddards	Walder
Krause (Ch)	Smith		
Mulholland			
Shorter			

^{*}Seat allocated to Independent Member as all other Groups had received their allocation across all Committees as part of the Political Balance calculation.

Planning Committee (14 Members) (plus 1 ex-officio)

Training is compulsory for anyone sitting on the Planning Committee.

Conservative	Ashford Independent	Labour	Green
(8)	(3)	(2)	(1)
Blanford (VCh)	Harman	Anckorn	Wright
Burgess (Ch)	Ovenden	Chilton	
Clokie	Sparks		
Forest			
Howard			
Howard-Smith			
Iliffe			
Mulholland			
Shorter (EO)			

Selection & Constitutional Review Committee (12 Members)

Conservative	Ashford Independent	Labour	Green
(7)	(3)	(2)	(0)
Barrett	Harman	Chilton	
Bartlett (VCh)	Hayward	Farrell	
Clarkson (Ch)	Ovenden		
Clokie			
Feacey			
Howard-Smith			
Krause			

Licensing Committee (13 Members)

Group Leaders are reminded of the importance of nominating Members who are available to attend day-time hearings of the Licensing Sub-Committee.

Training is compulsory for anyone sitting on the Licensing Committee.

Conservative	Ashford Independent	Labour	Green	Independent
(7)	(3)	(1)	(1)	(1)
Buchanan	Ledger	L Suddards	Wright	Michael
Burgess	Rogers			
Feacey	Smith			
Krause (VCh)				
Pickering				
Shorter				
Webb (Ch)				

Regulatory Committee (13 Members)

Group Leaders are reminded of the importance of nominating Members who are available to attend day-time hearings of the Licensing Sub-Committee.

Training is compulsory for anyone sitting on the Regulatory Committee.

Conservative	Ashford Independent	Labour	Green	Independent
(7)	(3)	(1)	(1)	(1)
Buchanan	Ledger	L Suddards	Wright	Michael
Burgess	Rogers			
Feacey	Smith			
Krause (VCh)				
Pickering				
Shorter				
Webb (Ch)				

Appointments Committee (5 Members)

Conservative	Ashford Independent	Labour	Green
(3)	(1)	(1)	(0)
Feacey	Ovenden	L Suddards	
Clarkson (Ch)			
Pickering (VCh)			

Appeals Committee (15 Members – 3 Members to be drawn per meeting)

Members should not be a Member of the Cabinet. Group Leaders are reminded of the importance of nominating Members who are available to attend day-time meetings.

Conservative	Ashford Independent	Labour	Green
(8)	(4)	(2)	(1)
Blanford	T Heyes	Anckorn	Campkin
Burgess	Ledger	L Suddards	
Dehnel	Sparks		
B Heyes	Turner		
Howard			
Krause			
Mulholland			
Wedgbury			

Investigation & Disciplinary Committee (15 Members – 3 Members to be drawn per meeting)

To include at least one Member of the Cabinet, Group Leaders and the Chairmen of the Overview & Scrutiny and Audit Committees.

Conservative	Ashford Independent	Labour	Green
(8)	(4)	(2)	(1)
Bartlett	Cornish	Chilton	Campkin
Barrett	Ovenden	L Suddards	
Mrs Bell	Sparks		
Bell	Turner		
Blanford			
Clarkson			
Feacey			
Krause			

Standards Committee (8 Members)

Based on 5 Conservative Members (including at least one Member of the Cabinet) plus the Chairman and Vice-Chairman of the Overview & Scrutiny Committee.

Conservative	Ashford Independent	Labour	Green
(5)	(2)	(1)	(0)
Mrs Bell (Ch)	Ovenden	Chilton	
Forest	Turner		
Knowles			
Pickering			
Shorter (VCh)			

Joint Transportation Board (7 Members)

Conservative	Ashford Independent	Labour	Green
(4)	(2)	(1)	(0)
Burgess	Cornish	Spain	
Feacey	T Heyes		
B Heyes (Ch)			
Krause			

Community Grants Panel (7 Members including the Portfolio Holder for Culture)

Conservative	Ashford Independent	Labour	Green
(4)	(2)	(1)	(0)
Barrett	Pauley	L Suddards	
Forest	Smith		
Knowles (VCh)			
Webb (Ch)			

Joint Consultative Committee (6 Members) – At least one Member from each Group – the remainder from the administration.

Membership is to include the Leader and/or appropriate Portfolio Holder.

Conservative	Ashford Independent	Labour	Green
(3)	(1)	(1)	(1)
Mrs Bell	Smith	L Suddards	Campkin
Mulholland			
Pickering (Ch)			

Member Training Panel (8 Members)

Conservative	Ashford Independent	Labour	Green
(5)	(2)	(1)	(0)
Mrs Bell (VCh)	Pauley	Spain	
Blanford	Smith		
Forest			
Howard			
Pickering (Ch)			

Local Government and Polling Districts Task Group (10 Members)

Conservative	Ashford Independent	Labour	Independent
(6)	(2)	(1)	(1)
Bell (Ch)	Rogers	Anckorn	Michael
Blanford	Sparks		
Dehnel			
B Heyes			
Knowles (VCh)			
Wedgbury			

Local Plan & Planning Policy Task Group (10 Members)

Conservative	Ashford Independent	Labour	Independent
(6)	(2)	(2)	(1)
Bartlett (Ch)	Harman	Spain	Walder
Mrs Bell	Ledger		
Blanford			
Clokie			
B Heyes			
Shorter (VCh)			

Trading and Enterprise Board (4 Members and 1 Observer)

Conservative		
(4)		
Bell (Ch)		
Feacey		
Pickering		
Shorter		

^{*} Councillor Ovenden to be appointed as Observer.

^{**} Councillor Bell (as Chairman) to be the Shareholder Representative under the Articles of Association of the Trading Companies.

MEMBERSHIP OF CABINET BOARDS, ADVISORY COMMITTEES AND TASK GROUPS FOR 2021/22

The following are set out for information only.

Boards

Ashford Strategic Delivery Board (4 Members)

Conservative		
(4)		
Bell		
Clarkson (Ch)		
Clokie		
Shorter		

Project Co-Ordination & Infrastructure Improvement Board (10 Members)

Conservative	Ashford Independent	Labour	Green
(8)	(1)	(1)	(0)
Bartlett	Ovenden	Farrell	
Bell			
Buchanan			
Clarkson (Ch)			
Clokie (VCh)			
Feacey			
Shorter			
Webb			

Economic Regeneration & Investment Board (6 Members)

Conservative	Ashford Independent	Labour	Green
(5)	(1*)	(0*)	(0*)
Bartlett (VCh)	Ovenden		
Bell			
Clarkson (Ch)			
Clokie			
Shorter			

^{*}One seat allocated to the Leader of the largest Opposition Group

Compliance & Enforcement Board (6 Members) (plus 1 ex-officio)

Conservative	Ashford Independent	Labour	Green
(5)	(0)	(1)	(0*)
Barrett		Spain	
Bell (Ch)			
Buchanan			
Feacey (VCh)			
Shorter			
Clarkson (EO)			

Civic and Ceremonial Programme Board (6 Members) (plus the Mayor as ex-offcio)

Conservative	Ashford Independent	Labour	Green
(4)	(1)	(1)	(0)
Burgess	Ovenden	L Suddards	
Clarkson (Ch)			
Dehnel			
Forest (VCh)			
Mayor (EO)			

Advisory Committees

Climate Change Advisory Committee (7 Members)

Conservative	Ashford Independent	Labour	Green
(4)	(0)	(1)	(2)
Blanford		Anckorn	Campkin
Feacey (VCh)			Wright
Howard (Ch)			
Mulholland			

IT and Digital Transformation Advisory Committee (5 Members)

Conservative	Ashford Independent	Labour	Green
(4)	(1)	(0)	(0)
Bell (VCh)	Ovenden		
Forest (Ch)			
Krause			
Pickering			

Victoria, Conningbrook and Discovery Parks Advisory Committee (4 Members) (plus 1 ex-officio)

Conservative	Ashford Independent	Labour	Green
(3)	(0)	(1)	(0)
Blanford		C Suddards	
Buchanan (Ch)			
Heyes			
Forest (EO)			

Ashford Town Centre Redevelopment Advisory Committee (8 Members) (plus 1 ex-officio)

Conservative	Ashford Independent	Labour	Green
(6)	(1)	(1)	(0)
Clokie (Ch)	Ovenden	Farrell	
Feacey (VCh)			
Forest			
Heyes			
lliffe			
Shorter			
Clarkson (EO)			